Built in 1888 by Frank Carney, Ouray County Courthouse is a unique merger of architectural styles, mostly Queen Anne and Romanesque. The first floor of the courthouse is where the county clerk and treasurer offices are located, and they have remained since the courthouse opened in the late 1800s. The long wide central hall has a large collection of historic photographs that have been taken throughout Ouray over the years. Up on the second floor, visitors can see the 40' by 56' district courtroom and its eighteen-foot ceiling. In keeping with the courthouse's historic nature, the room has several classic furnishings.